Separated at birth
You became spring
And I became winter,
One of us disappeared
Into faded white marble,
Occupant of a back garden
Dense with fog.
I learned to speak,
You already knew how,
But I could not hear you.
In my frozen ears
There was
So much snow
Until you came
Fire-bird
With a blast of furnace heat
Melting
My resistance.
When will I look at You
Without a hint
Of raised eyebrow
And the lingering skepticism
Of the
Too-long
Separated?
All these years
Parked in my soul
You have not driven away;
When will I believe
You are not leaving?

The soul finds rest in God alone.

Leave a Reply

